Quality Assurance Program

The Regulated Health Professions Act, 1991 requires all health care regulatory colleges to have in place a quality assurance program that consists of:

  • Continuing education and professional development
  • Self, peer and practice assessment
  • A mechanism for the College to monitor participation and compliance


The Quality Assurance Program involves 4 facets:

  1. The Online Self-Assessment Tool (SAT) which is completed by all General and Academic members.
  2. Development annually by individual members of three learning goals and the collection of Continuous Learning Activity Credits (CLACs) to help realize the learning goals.
  3. The Peer Assessment Program where randomly selected members participate in Peer Assessment.
  4. Observance of CASLPO’s Practice Standards which apply to all members of both professions.

Continuous Learning Activity Credits, CLACS:  "What Counts as a CLAC and How Do I Document Them?"

For more information, please read our ‘Short Guide To The Quality Assurance Program’ and Information for Employers.

What happens if I do not complete my SAT on time? Click here

Professional Practice Standards: 2017, To review, Click here

A truly Committeed Membership - 2018 Self-Assessment Tool (SAT) Click here

This website is intended to provide information to the public and members.  Should there be differences in documentation previously distributed to CASLPO members, it is up to the member to source the latest version posted on the CASLPO website.